Stan Musial- Presidential Medal of Freedom

President Barack Obama will award Stan Musial the Presidential Medal of Freedom on February 15 in a ceremony scheduled for 12:30pm CST in the East Room of the White House. Fans can watch the live presentation on the web at

Stan “The Man” Musial will be one of fifteen recipients along with Boston Celtics’ great Bill Russell, President George H.W. Bush, Chancellor Angela Merkel, Congressman John Lewis, John H. Adams, Maya Angelou, Warren Buffett, Jasper Johns, Gerda Weissmann Klein, Dr. Tom Little, Yo-Yo Ma, Sylvia Mendez, Jean Kennedy Smith and John J. Sweeney.

The Medal of Freedom is the Nation’s highest civilian honor and bestowed to individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors. Though individuals may be honored for singular acts of momentous import, it is generally offered for a lifetime of service or at the conclusion of a distinguished career.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

History of Cardinals

Over the years we posted a ton of Cardinals history here at CGM. We are now proud to say that we have launched a partner website called "History of Cardinals" over at that we consider the best STL Cardinals history site on the internet. It has year by year history along with a "today in Cardinals history" feature for every single day of the year. If you are a Cardinals history buff -- check out our partner site here.

United Cardinal Bloggers

Cardinals GM is a proud member of the United Cardinal Bloggers group. Click here to visit the UCB.

Baseball Bloggers Alliance

Cardinals GM is a proud member of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance. Click here to learn more about the Baseball Bloggers Alliance.